The new Seven Wonders of the World (chosen 07-07-07)
click here for the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
The origin of the idea of "seven wonders of the world" dates back to Herodotus (484 BC – 425 BC) and Callimachus (305 BC – 240 BC), who made lists which included the Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes and Lighthouse of Alexandria. Only the Great Pyramid of Giza is still standing. The other six were destroyed by earthquake, fire or other reasons.

The finalist candidates for the New Seven Wonders.According to the NOWC milestones page,[6], Swiss-originated québecois businessman Bernard Weber launched the project in September 1999. The project's web site started in 2001 when Mr. Weber paid $700 for a site based in Canada. To be included on the new list, the wonders had to be man made, completed before 2000, and in an "acceptable" state of preservation. By November 24, 2005, 177 monuments were up for consideration. On January 1, 2006, the NOWC said the list had been narrowed to 21 sites, later reduced to 20 following complaints from Egypt over the Pyramids' inclusion as a candidate in competition with others.

A midpoint tally reported a top 10 list which included all 7 winners, plus the Acropolis, Easter Island, and the Eiffel Tower.

Federico Mayor, a former UNESCO Director General, was the president of project's expert panel as an individual. NOWC is not connected with UNESCO.

Organisers stated that their aim was to use part of the revenue from the contest between the well-known monuments, from future votes, related merchandise, and use of the voters database, to set up, or contribute to, various restoration projects in the world.

After the final announcement, however, NOWC which had promised to give 50 per cent of the revenues from its campaign, said it didn’t earn anything from the exercise and barely recovered its investments.
In alphabetical order:

Chichén Itzá, Mexico

Christ Redeemer, Rio The Great Wall
Machu Picchu, Peru Petra, Jordan The Roman Coliseum
The Taj Mahal The Great Pyramids at Giza  
The Runners Up
The Acropolis The Alhambra Angkor Wat
Easter Island Moas The Eiffel Tower Neuschwanstein, Bavaria
The Hagia Sofia Kiyomizu Temple, Kyoto The Kremlin, Moscow
Timbuktu, Mali The Statue of Liberty The Sydney Opera House
The company plans to develop a new list of seven wonders of nature through a similar process, taking nominations through August 8, 2008.


The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), in a press release on June 20, 2007, reaffirmed that it has no link with the "private initiative", which it says would reflect "only the opinions of those with access to the Internet." The press release concluded:

“ There is no comparison between Mr. Weber’s mediatised campaign and the scientific and educational work resulting from the inscription of sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. The list of the 7 New Wonders of the World will be the result of a private undertaking, reflecting only the opinions of those with access to the Internet and not the entire world. This initiative cannot, in any significant and sustainable manner, contribute to the preservation of sites elected by this public.[4] ”

Egyptian commentators have viewed it as competition to the status of the Great Pyramid of Giza, the only surviving monument of the original Ancient Wonders. "This is probably a conspiracy against Egypt, its civilization and monuments," wrote editorialist Al-Sayed al-Naggar in a leading state-owned daily. Egyptian Culture Minister Farouq Hosni said the project was "absurd" and described its creator, Weber, as a man "concerned primarily with self-promotion." Nagib Amin, an Egyptian expert on World Heritage Sites, has pointed out that "in addition to the commercial aspect, the vote has no scientific basis."[15]

After the complaints from Egypt, the New7Wonders Foundation designated the Pyramids of Giza — the only remaining of the 7 Ancient Wonders of the World — as an Honorary New7Wonders Candidate, and removed them from the voting.[16]

In Brazil there was a campaign Vote no Cristo (Vote for the Christ) which had the support of private companies, namely telecommunications operators that stopped charging voters to make telephone calls to vote.[17] Additionally, leading corporate sponsors including Banco Bradesco and Rede Globo spent "millions" of dollars in the effort to have the statue voted into the top seven.[1] Newsweek reports the campaign was so pervasive that:

“ One morning in June, Rio de Janeiro residents awoke to a beeping text message on their cell phones: “Press 4916 and vote for Christ. It’s free!” The same pitch had been popping up all over the city since late January—flashing across an electronic screen every time city-dwellers swiped their transit cards on city buses and echoing on TV infomercials that featured a reality-show celebrity posing next to the city’s trademark Christ the Redeemer statute.[1] ”

By early July, around 10 million Brazilians had voted in the contest.[1]

The Chilean representative for the Easter Island Moais, Alberto Hotus, said that the organizer, Bernard Weber, gave him a letter saying that the Moais had finished eighth and that they were "morally" one of the New Seven Wonders. Hotus said he was the only participant to receive such apology.[18]

Queen Rania Al-Abdullah of Jordan joined the campaign to back Petra, Jordan's national treasure.[1] The campaign was so successful, despite Jordan only having a population of under 7 million people, over 14 million votes were made from the country.[1]

Despite having the second largest population on Earth, the Taj Mahal of India was lagging at No.14 with just 0.8% of the votes just one month before the final declaration. Gradually, a campaign to publicise the campaign in India gathered speed and it reached a crescendo in July 2007. Every news channel, radio station, and many celebrities asked people to vote. Towards the end of the campaign, 13 per cent of all votes being cast came from India.[19]

  1. ^ a b c d e f g h Dwoskin, Elizabeth (2007-07-09), "Vote for Christ", Newsweek. Retrieved on 2007-07-11
  2. ^ a b c,0,299368.story?coll=la-default-underdog
  3. ^ NOWC Terms and Conditions
  4. ^ a b
  5. ^ New Seven Wonders named amid controversy. Retrieved on 2007-09-07.
  6. ^ NOWC Milestone page
  7. ^ BBC News Article 2 Jan 2006
  8. ^
  9. ^ Madrid 2004. Retrieved on 2007-07-07.
  10. ^ UNESCO is not involved. Retrieved on 2007-07-07.
  11. ^ The New Yorker: "Buddhas for Bamiyan" Retrieved 2007-7-16
  12. ^ a b BBC News: "More than a one-hit wonder?" Retrieved 2007-7-21
  13. ^ New Seven Wonders: "The New7Wonders Foundation" Retrieved on 2007-7-18
  14. ^ Finalist Page
  15. ^ "Egypt fumes over fresh seven wonders competition for pyramids." Article retrieved Jan. 25, 2007
  16. ^ NWOC Pyramids of Giza
  17. ^ Sete Maravilhas: Brasil comemora eleição de Cristo Redentor (Portuguese). Retrieved on 2007-07-10.
  18. ^ "Líder pascuense furioso porque le dieron a la isla un triunfo moral" Las Últimas Noticias July 10, 2007
  19. ^ "Taj Mahal joins wonders of the world list." Article retrieved July 23, 2007

link New 7 Wonders Site    the architecture you must see